South Perth Win National Title

National Champions South Perth

South Perth Bowling Club dominated the Bowls Premier League Cup finals at Club Pine Rivers in Bray Park, Queensland.

The 16-team finals event featured sides hailing from each state and territory that had qualified in local events, then through regional and state finals.

Remarkably, South Perth qualified in all three of WA’s allocated spots and confirmed that dominance in the BPL Cup to provide both finalists.

It wasn’t smooth sailing through the preliminary rounds though, with both finalists losing a qualifying match but still managing to top their groups.

In the final, the team of Glenn Pauling (skipper), Scott Walker and Ashley Sharp prevailed over David Mortley’s team of Dean Calvo and Derek Angell in the fast paced, sets-play format.

Ashley Sharp was named most valuable player in the final, his lead bowls setting up the victory for the team.

“It’s a big relief to get off the green with a win, but obviously bittersweet, beating our own clubmates in the final” he said.

The final was shown live on Foxtel and Kayo Sports – as well as Sky Sports in NZ.  


Top Photo: courtesy Bowls Australia.   Left to right: Ashley Sharp, Scott Walker, Glenn Pauling

South Perth BPL Cup 2019
South Perth BPL Cup 2019 Players and Supporters

Leave a Reply