Home of the Millers
  • Like Us
  • Follow Us
  • 2 Mends Street, South Perth

Awards Night - Winners

Wed, 04/30/2014 - 3:11pm -- admin
South Perth Bowling Club Awards Night 2014 Winners

South Perth Bowling Club recently held its annual awards night, at which four members received prestigious awards.

Ruby Edwards was crowned Ladies Bowler Of The Year after a stellar season. She completed a clean sweep of the Ladies’ Championship Events, winning the Singles and being part of the successful Pairs and Triples Championship teams. Ruby also won the Mixed Pairs Championship with Nick Reagan.

Rob Campbell, in his second season at South Perth, won a close contest to be announced Men’s Bowler Of The Year. Rob played in the Men’s Championship Fours side and was runner up in the Men’s Singles. A pennant record of 11 wins and 6 losses saw him accrue enough points to hold off pennant teammate Mick McRae and Greg Reagan to collect the trophy.

Troy Kinnane had been voted the inaugural "Miller Medallist" at the Most Valuable Player vote count night a few weeks earlier. Skippering his One White rink to 8 wins and a draw, Troy won the medal which is awarded to the person who accumulates the most rink votes as submitted by all players each Saturday.

Ryan Havercroft was announced the HJ O’Brien Club Person Of The Year as awarded by SPBC President Tony Percival. Tony paid tribute to Ryan’s efforts over the course of the season, in particular his contribution to the smooth running of the club events including The Welcome Fours Carnival and Country Week events.

On a sad note, Tony informed members of the recent passing of Elva O’Brien and proposed a motion that he will have the award title changed to the HJ & E O’Brien Club Person Of The Year in the future to honour the memory of both Bill and Elva O'Brien.


The 4 big winners - SPBC Awards Night 2014


Bowler of the Year winners - SPBC 2014


Female BOY - SPBC 2014